The Squirrels Are Getting Larger

Finally something worth reporting. So far 2016 has got off to a very slow start. Practically stationary. The weather has generally been shitter than I’ve seen it for years with not a frosty morning in sight. Just pretty much wall to wall rain and the odd dollop of sunshine. In all fairness, there’s also the fact I’m getting older now so not quite as agile about town. In days gone by it used to be I’d fly all over the City searching for blog-worthy stories. Now, generally speaking, news stories tend to come to me, like this one, and anything involving the potential demise of the aggressive urban squirrel is certainly worthy of attention.

A few years ago, a story I covered in detail was squirrels and their ninja-like ways. I kid you not. Suddenly out of nowhere they all appeared to be partaking in serious combat training:

Scary shit.

Everywhere you looked there were squirrels working out pumping peanuts. This was about the time they also started demonstrating some serious attitude towards almost all other parklife.

Things got so bad I even started a campaign called Operation Stop The Squirrel that went down quite well. Click on the link to read more.

I had noticed that in recent years the squirrels have been lying low, and now I know why.

Turns out all this warm weather has encouraged them eat more, and more, and more. And the more they eat, the less they want to do. For some, even walking, has become a struggle. I heard one got stuck in a tree the other day and had to be cut out. Not cool.

It looks like morbid obesity has landed in the squirrel world.

Warning – Some of you may find these images disturbing:

24772339274_e9025e6ca6

Jesus.

25284627442_1e9771cd58

Wouldn’t want to meet this on a dark night!

25107323630_02c92f4a3b

How times change. Saying that, perhaps it’s their strategy that’s changed? Maybe their approach is now more sumo style? Knock your opponent to the ground and just sit on them?? Doesn’t bear thinking about!

Whatever it is, I’m not sure it’s going to work out for them as pretty soon living in trees will be a thing of the past and our parks will be full of huge great squirrels snoring under bushes. Nice.

March 1, 2016. Operation Stop The Squirrel, Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Yas replied:

    Ahaha this story make me laugh ! I love squirells all sizes… You’ve got a great imagination.. Keep up the good work🙂

  2. Tina S (@TabbyTalker) replied:

    Yup they’re also making a pig of them selves here as well. And yet they still raid the bird feeder. If push comes to shove around here with all the baby making and they start to raid the garden and my doves outdoor cage, I’m going to have to arrange a silver lined shuttle to an obscure park on the other side of the city complete with complementary peanuts. If you know what I mean.😉

  3. Watching Squirrels - Jason C. Stanley replied:

    […] The squirrels remind me to turn my attention away from the frantic pace of life filled with worry, and seek a calmer vision of God’s will. Jesus tells the crowd, “Seek first God’s kingdom and righteousness.” (Matthew 6:33). I believe that when we do this, there will be less tension in the church; less violence in the streets; less racism and bullying. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

