Murray Is Alive And Well!

I was just about to bang on about National Pigeon Appreciation Day and how it took me over a week to recover, but it’ll have to wait. Something way more important came up.

Remember my pigeon pal in London from years ago, Murray? The Andy Murray fan who used to fly to Wimbledon every year to watch his hero play? Remember how he’d lost it back in 2012 and was living as a recluse on the roof on Centre Court? Click on the link to read more.

I heard from him the other day, totally out of the blue, and all is well. Excellent in fact, which is a massive relief. Since the shock of the shooting followed by the arrival of the hawks, particularly Rufus, he decided Wimbledon sucked and moved to Scotland to be nearer to his idol. Apparently he spends Christmases in Dunblane hoping to catch a glimpse of Andy spending time with his family, and then the rest of the year in Edinburgh. Reckons, weather aside, the place rocks. He also mentioned it took him a week to get there. That’s what I call dedication.

“Wimbledon just wasn’t fun anymore.” He said. “Pigeons don’t dare go there, which is a shame for those of us who were genuine tennis fans. I realised last year that the stress of if all had finally got to me. I had to move. I watch the matches on the screens up here or I look through pub windows. Much safer.” He also said he was still getting to grips with the Scottish accent. Don’t blame him on that one.

He sent me this. It’s a pic of him in a place called Hunter Square:

Considering this is what he looked in 2012, I’d say the move to Scotland was just what he needed:

He asked if I’d go up for a visit. I said I might if Andy Murray reaches the final again.

Obviously I’m hoping that won’t happen as it’s one fuck of a fly, but hearing that Andy Murray has just gone through to the next round, I may need to start warming up.

Good to hear from you, pal. Bet you’ll be partying hard tonight. Have one on me.

June 27, 2014. Uncategorized.

5 Comments

  1. Jane Hendy replied:

    Brian, that is the most beautiful piece of writing you have done in a long time. Keep it up.

  2. Christine Jessie Harmer replied:

    Yes, he does look much better and so glad you have tracked him down… get ready for that fly, Brian… Andy Murray looking good… sorry that the Wimbledon fans can’t go there any more but better to be safe than sorry.

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Needless to say I haven’t heard from him since… Think he may have gone underground!

  3. Pigeons of Scotland – Yes or No? | Pigeon Blog replied:

    […] did try to get in touch with my old pal, Murray, but apparently he went underground after Andy Murray lost at Wimbledon and hasn’t been seen […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

