A Pigeon Called Rocco From Chicago

Email really is a genius invention, especially for pigeons. In the old days it was us that transported messages. Millions of them. The day to day life of a pigeon was nothing but carrying around small bits of paper with writing on. We were the original Internet.

Nowadays, we don’t need to go anywhere near the message. In fact, I haven’t seen an actual message for years. The messages come to us, online. What’s even better is we get to send them too, providing the whole jumping around on a keyboard thing has been mastered of course (see previous post).

The story I’m about to tell you is the perfect example of how well this works. A pigeon got in touch from Chicago recently. Kid you not. All the way from across the pond in Chicago. The name’s Rocco. He actually called himself ‘Big’ Rocco. Not sure why. He doesn’t look very big in the picture.

He’s the one on the left with the slightly odd neckerchief going on:

IMG_8467

He said he’d been reading Pigeon Blog for a while and thought he’d send me an email. How simple is that? There’s no way I’d have got that message before the Internet came along.

Have to say, Chicago sounds like my kind of town. Big history of gangster pigeons back in the day, apparently. One in particular, weirdly also called  Rocco.

Rocco discovered how to make alcohol out of cat piss. He had a thing going on in the Italian quarter where he’d kidnap pigeons from other parts of town and offer them up to the local cats in return for their piss, which he’d then turn into alcohol. Total genius. Apparently it’s where the term ‘get pissed’ comes from.

This is where he lived. It’s also where Rocco and most of the other uptown pigeons live now. Plenty of ledges and pretty central:

IMG_8464

He’s not wrong there. Never seen so many ledges. Unfortunately he did say that most of the buildings these days are ledge-free. I’ve told him the same thing is happening in London. Ledges are a thing of the past.

Anyway, Rocco and me are going to stay in contact, and he’s also going to put me in touch with a couple of pals of his in New York.

Good times. Here’s to the Internet.

October 11, 2013. Uncategorized.

8 Comments

  1. Animalcouriers replied:

    Perfect pigeon platform – going to visit Rocco?

  2. MimiManderly replied:

    Perhaps you should investigate some sort of legal action against Bill Gates — pro bono, of course — for stealing the internet from you. You coulda been a gajillionaire!

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Mimi – that’s a genius idea, if only we’d patented delivering of messages. Talk about a missed opportunity.

  3. letsmaybeLP92 (@lochen2014) replied:

    I cannot believe I didn’t know about this blog earlier. You are the best Brian. By the way, have you checked Hatoful Boyfriend. It is a great Pigeon Dating Sim. Everybirdie should check it. In fact somebirdie here would really like it😀

  4. pooterwooter replied:

    Brian,
    Your blog is the greatest pigeon thing eva. I could show you some great spots for pigeons in my ‘hood if you are ever down in the southern hemisphere.
    It’s pretty warm down here now and there’s lots of stuff happening at my local bakery that pigeons seem to like.
    Keep your chin up as the weather gets colder mate!
    Brissie pidg!

  5. ParisExpat replied:

    Hey Brian, hello from Poopzilla the Pigeon in Paris! I’m a house-pigeon who’s been living with my friend Professor Jonathan after he found me in the street way back in 2007. I was just a baby and didn’t even know how to fly, let alone feed myself. I’m not sure what had happened to me, but my parents weren’t around and I hadn’t a clue what to do next. To make a long story short, Professor Jonathan scooped me up and brought me home and I never left. It’s been a long haul getting him to cater to all my needs, desires and moods, but he’s getting there.

    I don’t know what your living arrangements are, Brian, but believe me, humans can be tamed and even trained! And they’re pretty good company once they figure out who really rules the roost.

    I’m looking forward to reading more about your adventures over there in England. I subscribed using Professor Jonathan’s email address.

    I certainly sympathize with your typing problems, but have you ever considered getting a human to do it? Among his other duties and responsibilities, Professor Jonathan is also my personal secretary which leaves me even more time for my usual pursuits (which are generally showing the Professor who’s the boss around here).

    Time to sign off – great talking with you!

    Best regards,

    Poopzilla & Jonathan (The Odd Couple Since 2007)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

