A Messy Closing Ceremony, But I’m Back, Just

Sorry for the lack of posts. Decided to take a last minute mini-break with Mart. Went down to Brighton for a few days. To be honest, the day after the Closing Ceremony I knew I needed a bit of time out. Jesus it was messy. Woke up under a bush in Soho Square at nine in the morning. Massive shoes crashing around my head. No clue where I was. Mart said he’d tried to get me back to the ledge but I was having none of it. Time to get away. Thankfully, the weather was alright too.

Straight down the A23 on some great thermals. Got there in under three hours including a stop off. Soon as we’d found a place to kip under the pier, we were all set.

Best thing I could have done. Wandered up and down the sea front everyday. Even went paddling near Hove. Of course, Mart wanted to try surfing till I reminded him that he couldn’t swim and the last time he’d tried it, it hadn’t ended well. Suddenly, paddling became the best thing ever.

Best bit was meeting a reasonably okay Sea Gull. That’s never happened before. Her name was Harriet.

Yes, believe it or not, she is female, not that you’d know it:

Talked like a fella, ate like a fella, looked like a fella, and preferred to be called Harry. Anyway, she turned out to be a really good laugh.

We hooked up a couple of times in the end.

Here we are again hanging out near Charles Street:

The reason we went back to the same place was that was where ‘Harry’ performed her stand-up. It was fucking brilliant. If anyone is around the Charles Street area at 4pm most days, unless it’s raining, it’s free and well worth a look.

Hilarious:

She told me she loved doing it here because of the ridiculous window behind listing everything that can possibly go wrong. She’d refer to them in her set. Genius. Think this was her frozen shoulder routine. When she got to ‘and many more’, she could go on for hours, and she always closed by picking up the fag butt and smoking it. Pissed ourselves, every time.

Anyway, back on the London ledge and feeling refreshed. Time to crack on with the rest of the year.

What’s coming up? No idea, but that’s the fun of it. Cant’ get any better than hanging out with a stand-up Sea Gull, can it?

August 20, 2012. Uncategorized.

12 Comments

  1. Glen Turner replied:

    Welcome back brian, Did the seagull sound german? Since watership down i think of all seagulls speaking broken english..

    • pigeonblog replied:

      No. Thankfully not. A so-called female seagull called Harriet speaking German would have been way too much.

  2. Ali at the Pally replied:

    Deeply in awe – you and Mart must be the first London pigeons to actually thermal beyond the M25. Respect. Don’t suppose Harry’d ever do a London gig?

    • pigeonblog replied:

      That’s a great idea. She’d go down a storm. Next time I’m down there I’ll ask her.

  3. inventory check London replied:

    Everytime I see a seagull, I think of the seagulls in “Finding Nemo” where they were repeating only “Mine, mine, mine”🙂

    • pigeonblog replied:

      For ages, I thought they were saying ‘Mate, mate mate’ in Aussie accents. I only saw a clip of them once when someone sent it.

  4. Mo replied:

    Welcome back. A perfect holiday, did you get lots of F&C

    • pigeonblog replied:

      It was the best mini-break. So good in fact I wouldn’t mind living down there one day. Brighton rocks the big one.

  5. alan scott replied:

    Looking forward to your disabled chums’ visit and participation in the Paralympics. Naturally, respectful.

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Okay. I’m gonna step it up a notch on the Pigeon Paralympics. It would be great to do it. I’ll see if I can’t muster up a few one leggers.

  6. Brighton Here We Come | Pigeon Blog replied:

    […] think Brighton is going to rock and, who knows, maybe I’ll try out a few dates? I’ll definitely be checking out the stand-up scene. Whatever occurs, it’s going to be a damn sight better than sitting on a wall near Marble […]

  7. Gull Fest 2013 | Pigeon Blog replied:

    […] A highlight for me was when one of the funniest gulls I’ve ever seen did a routine about swans and sparrows. Last time I saw her was on a mini-break in Brighton last year. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

