Right. We’ve Had Enough. It’s Official.

I think I can speak for anything that breathes when I say we’ve all had enough of this relentless weather. Really. I know I’ve been accused of banging on about the weather in the past, but what we’ve got now warrants more than a bit of banging. Jesus. Me and Mart have been stuck under Waterloo Bridge for what feels like an eternity. Last night a bunch of sparrows from Wandsworth decided to have a sing along. Fucking irritating and highly inappropriate. They sang various hits from the musicals. The final straw was  ‘The Hills are Alive with the Sound of Music’. If they try it tonight I’m not sure I’ll be able to stop myself from sticking their annoying little beaks together with sellotape.

I reckon we might even end up postponing the Pigeon Olympics. Kid you not. There’s no point whatsoever when it’s pissing down. No fun at all.

There are depressed pigeons everywhere. Kid you not. It’s what happens when you don’t get any sunlight.

Found this lot yesterday. They’d flown all the way down from Aberdeen last week for the Pigeon Olympics:

Was about to interview them when one of them said: “Didne hink th’ weaither woods be as bad doon haur as it is up thaur” WTF? It was like he was from a different planet.

Thankfully, another one spotted me struggling and stepped in to translate. I’d already asked him to repeat it twice. Apparently it means: “Didn’t think the weather would be as bad down here as it is up there.”

Then he goes, Wa woods anyain want tae bide haur?” meaning “Why would anyone want to live here?” and that’s coming from a pigeon from Aberdeen. Fair play though when we find ourselves up to our knees in July.

Hopefully the sun will come out soon and all this will all seem like a bad dream.

July 17, 2012. Uncategorized.

13 Comments

  1. Glen Turner replied:

    Did the scottish pigeon give his name? I know a clementine pigeon from aberdeen but we have not spoken for a while.

    • pigeonblog replied:

      He did, but I didn’t understand what it was. Possibly Dougray..?

  2. Animalcouriers replied:

    All may not be lost – the bbc are forecasting an end to the foot rot weather (now, we’ve heard this all before, haven’t we?): http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-18868494

    Hope they’re right – the olympics must go on

    • pigeonblog replied:

      I heard the same thing today. Exciting stuff, and toes crossed. Be a real shame if the Pigeon Olympics were rained off but there’s a limit to how many sports we can do indoors.

  3. Friendofpigeons replied:

    Brian, I think it’s just nature’s way of cleaning everything up before the Olympics. You’ll see – the sun will come out in time for the festivities. Keep your fingers (talons?) crossed!

  4. Mimi Gregor replied:

    I will gladly trade you our drought for your rain. We in the USA are parched!

    • pigeonblog replied:

      I heard that too. Mental stuff. Tell you what, let’s go halvers? We’ll have half your sun, and you can have half our rain? That way we should all be okay.

  5. Talwin replied:

    Given that it seems to piss down every year now, have you thought of flying south for the summer?

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Yeah. I did. Got as far as Brighton and it seemed just the same down there. Any further would mean a ferry ride and I’m not great on ferries.

      • Talwin replied:

        I was thinking more like South Africa. Obviously not Jo’burg (too much like Peckham!?), but Cape Town is supposed to be very agreeable.

        There’s a pair of swallows nesting in next door’s garage; maybe they’d give a heads-up on the journey. Or I suppose you could just follow them home.

  6. Christine Harmer replied:

    Perhaps that is why that homing pigeon flew to America (or hitched several rides on ships), anything to get away…..

  7. Virginia Gal replied:

    Brian! With all this rain, I can’t even imagine what the Games will be like for the people – 7 days to go!

  8. Brian Pigeon Emerges, Finally: Happy New Year! | Pigeon Blog replied:

    […] not easy. There are loads of options in London what with all the bridges. Couple of years back I remember Waterloo Bridge became my home for a while, but Brighton? Not a cocking bridge in sight. So mainly I have been sitting with Mart in various […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

