Remnants of New Year’s Eve

Still trying to piece together the events of NYE, crazy seeing as today is the 4th. Thinking I might give up and put it down to experience.

I remember it all started out a bit weird. Some bloke in St James’s Park insisted me and Mart sit on his hand.

Wouldn’t take no for an answer:

All rather uncomfortable, but I decided to put up with it expecting a bit of seed at the very least. Nothing. Nada.

The three of us just stood there looking awkward:

Eventually Mart suggested we should probably be making a move, so we did. All very odd, and kinda set the tone for the rest of the night.

After St James’s, we headed to Piccadilly Circus where we hooked up with Hoxton Elliot and a couple of the boys:

I seem to remember one of them had spotted a red wine spillage somewhere in Clerkenwell, so off we went. From that point onwards, all I have is photos.

Here’s one of them. No idea where this is:

Possibly Soho Square?

Then there’s this one of Elliot passed out in the gutter:

Jesus.

Clearly a good night was had by all, but what is it with red wine and the old memory synapses? No matter how hard I try, there’s nothing in there. Oh well. I’m sure we all had a great time and made total tits of ourselves. No change there then.

Onwards and upwards and 2012 promises to be a top year what with the Pigeon Olympics happening in July. Turns out there’s a proper event being held now organized by pigeons who know what they’re doing, and they’ve asked me, being the only bona fide blogging pigeon in town, to cover it. Exciting stuff. Mart told me he’s keen to enter even though I pointed out he’s not very good at any of the sports on the list (Synchronised Landing, Chip Tossing, Judo, 1m and 2m Sprint to name but a few).

The other thing about 2012, and I only realised this the other day, but I’ve been telling it how it is for the pigeons for London for six years now. Mental. Six whole years, so I’m going to be looking back a bit at how life has changed in London since I started. Quite a lot I reckon. For a start, the seed ban proper hadn’t kicked in yet so we were all feeling a little happier generally. Bird flu hadn’t been invented either so far less of the accusing stares, although that seems to have died down now.

Anyway, Happy New Year everyone.

2012 – Bring it on.

January 4, 2012. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Dodu Pigeon replied:

    Happy New Pigeon Year Brian from London! This is Dodu from Montreal, Québec still alive and kicking !

  2. Bicoid Babe replied:

    Happy (belated) New Year from Chicagoland! I’m glad things went well, and hope that 2012 is a good year for you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

