Pigeons Of Richmond Got It Good

I’ve known it for a long time, but the pigeons in Richmond have got it good. The best, I reckon. Best of all worlds. Loads of parks and the River Thames, but near enough to mean a pissed fly home from Piccadilly is easy enough. Just follow the river to Wandsworth, then over Richmond Park and you’re there.

As you know, I’ve been to Richmond a few times recently, but this was the moment that made me think moving there permanently might be good idea…

There we were, Mart and Me, flying low from the bridge out towards the the park over Terrace Gardens, when we spotted this lot munching on some grass:

Eating grass or anything hiding in it is often a last resort, so there had to be another reason.

Then we flew up the hill, and this was the view:

That’s them in the middle.

Fuck me. Granted the sun was shining, but even I’d chew on grass if that’s what I was looking at.

Then, top it all, we saw some of them do the ‘Circle of Happiness’:

Not seen that for a very long time. A proper full Circle of Happiness. I was going to join in myself but wasn’t in the best of moods and didn’t want to spoil it for the rest of them.

Countryside aside, another big plus of Richmond is its nearness to the Big Bird’s Club on Ham Common. It’s near, but not too near. I wouldn’t want to live that close to it anyway. Temptation and all that.

So, here’s the dilemma:

Do I or don’t I move to Richmond permanently? Would I miss Soho? Would I miss Mare Street? Would I miss the bagels..? I’d need to do a serious ledge recce first, and I guess Mart will have to come with me. Not sure he’d want to stay on Beak Street on his own.

Anyway, there’s plenty of time. It’s not like we have to give anyone notice or anything, although would like to hand it over to a pal I liked. It is a great ledge after all.

September 20, 2011. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. the beak replied:

    Richmond’s not for you. It’s woodpigeon and dove territory, and be honest, have you ever pulled a dove? Not saying they’re out of your league. But they are. Keep your beak out of it. You’re better off stickin’ with your central property in this economic climate, what with birds migratin’ in from the suburbs to find more food in the recession, every throwaway counts nowadays and you’re right on top.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

