Pigeon Obesity Soars

Despite efforts to educate London pigeons in the art of food management, it seems the number of those now registering as officially obese, some of them morbidly so, has risen dramatically over the past year.

Apparently the problem gets worse the further south you go.

Found these two in Merton.

The first instance I’ve seen where the ‘Don’t Feed The Pigeons’ sign might just be a good idea:

I asked them if they wanted to come down and talk to me. There clearly wasn’t any room up there. To be honest, it was more of a test really, and I was right. They were so fat they couldn’t get down. Unbelievable. Then I asked them what they had for breakfast. They said pizza base. And lunch? Pizza base. I suggested a more varied diet might work? They told me to fuck off.

Anyway, I just got back and looked it up, and no wonder. Jesus. The only takeaways in Merton are pizza joints. Literally.

When I Googled ‘takeaways in Merton’, all I got was this:

Nothing but pizzas, unless Google has me tagged as a pizza fan, which is impossible. Last time I found a pizza all I got was a cold piece of pineapple I wasn’t expecting. Consequently, I’ve never searched for pizzas. Not online, not anywhere, not ever.

So there you have it. Stop feeding pigeons the seed, and all they get is pizza.

Food for thought.

August 2, 2011. Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. Friendofpigeons replied:

    We’ve got the same problem over here in the U.S.!

  2. Mary F replied:

    Think my two pigeon friends have been pizza snatching somewhere recently … obviously the healthy eating seeds on the bird table has become boring!

    Enjoyed your blog … and your Mslexia story too.

  3. Me replied:

    Most pensioners in Serbia would so enjoy those pigeons… in their plates :p

  4. pigeonblog replied:

    Me: Not sure they would if all they’re filled with is old pizza base…
    Your pal
    Bri

  5. Fat Pigeons Suffer In The Heat « Pigeon Blog replied:

    […] I’ve posted before about the rise in obesity in pigeons, and I’ve watched them struggle, so I thought I’d find out whether hot weather can act as a driver to lose weight… […]

  6. Mary Strong-Spaid replied:

    I wrote about the obese pigeons also.
    http://storieswithnobooks.com/2012/09/19/obese-fast-food-pigeons-2/

    There are many outdoor tables at the fast food restaurants in Hawaii –because the weather is absolutely beautiful.
    As a result, there are overweight pigeons everywhere.
    And people, eating the same food as the pigeons, are also slowly growing wider.
    Fast food. Quick, convenient, filling, with too many calories, too much salt, too much saturated fat, and not enough nutrition. The problem with obesity is on the rise everywhere. There is a message for us all in the obese shape of a pigeon.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

