Another Interview With Roy

Despite his busy Judo schedule, I managed to grab five with Roy to talk about the exciting release of his new Christmas single. Pisses on any X Factor shite, so go buy it by clicking on this link.

The Dogs of Battersea will be eternally grateful as they tuck into their charity mince pies.

1.      What made you want to record a song?

I was inspired to record a song because I had a look at the charts for the first time in years and was shocked to my soul to see no Judo-themed records in the top ten. Literally not one! It really shook me up, and I had no choice but to pick up the guitar and start getting all the stuff in my heart out on to the street.

2.      Did writing it get in the way of the Judo?

Writing the song didn’t get in the way of Judo – because writing the song was Judo. Judo is more than just throwing people on the floor – Judo can be jogging, Judo can be talking on the phone, Judo can be having a lie-in in the morning, if done right. And Judo can be song writing. Saying that… lots of songs aren’t Judo – especially if the lyrics go something like… ‘take my hand and you will understand’ – or some nonsense like that. Or anyone singing about DJs and nightclubs – that ain’t Judo.

3.      How did you find the time to learn guitar in between Judo practice?

The guitar is easy, in my opinion. It’s not like it’s a greased-up ferret with rabies that does what it wants. The guitar only makes noises that your hands tell it to. What could be simpler than that? Saying that, I did have some trouble playing it in the video for Judo I’m Crying This Christmas because of the time pressure. And someone else had to play it in the studio for the recording of the song too.

4.      Why Battersea Dog’s Home?

Why Battersea dogs Home? I know a few people that have ended up there, and they all say what a grim, horrible, god-forbidden place South London is. I just wanted to help out a bit.

5.      Are you buying Rexley anything for Christmas?

Rexley got me one of those ‘experience weekend’ voucher type things last year. Well… that’s what he told me it was, but it turned out he had enrolled me in the army to go and fight in Afghanistan. So I’m going to avoid him this Christmas if I can. I’ll sit at the other end of the table. I might just write him a poem… about his dirty flat face or something. I don’t know, we’ll see how it goes.

6.      Have you got any New Year resolutions?
For choosing a New Year’s resolution I tend to do the opposite of what Rexley does. But this year he’s vowed to start smoking, and I can’t do the opposite of that because I already don’t smoke. So I haven’t really got any ideas this year. Maybe learn the clarinet.

Cheers, Roy. Nice one.

Here’s to a Christmas Number 1.

December 11, 2010. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Prodicus replied:

    Mental. In a good way.

  2. BlindDog replied:

    Roy is spot on, everything is Judo!
    Happy Christmas and good luck with your #1 record!

    BlindDog Bruno

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

