Winston Pigeon – Exclusive Interview

Remember Winston? The South African pigeon who flew faster than broadband? The one I’ve been trying to bag an interview with? Well – I did, and here it is. A Pigeon Blog exclusive.

What an total dude, and an inspiration to us all:

Why 4BG? Why not 2?

Life is about setting lofty goals. On a SD card the weight would be the same if it was 2 or 4 gig. I really wanted to go all out.

How did you carry it, and was it heavy?

Well, it was strapped to my leg using industrial strength insulation tape. I find the red one best for this sort of thing. Heavy, no not really. It did however change my profile a touch, and I lost a bit of streamlining.

How knackered were you, really?

It was actually a short flight, little training run actually. I did a much longer race the weekend after.

Did you fly all the way…?

No. I stopped on the way to see a lady friend for some seed, you know, and had a small nap in some trees while some hawks were about over Liberty Mall area. Then there was the rush back The Unlimited’s offices, which was in a car.

How long did you train for, and what did you have to do?

I have been training for a few weeks now, small training flights, a bit of gym work, and then mainly avoidance techniques. I am trained by an ex-Ghurkha half ninja and patisserie chef named Steve.

How do you feel now?

Nothing really to report.

Do you worry about your weight?

Only on race day, other wise I was blessed with an amazing metabolism.

What do you eat?

Seeds, the occasional McFlurry, and I do have a weakness for a pint after a long days flying.

How much sleep do you need?

As much as the next bird. I get up early and tuck in with the rest of the coop. I get about 8 hours per day.

Have you received any calls from Telkom’s advertising department?

No, they’ve not been in touch, bar race day when they tried to and couldn’t because our lines were down, which is exactly what we were pointing out!

Would you consider coming to the UK and taking on BT?

Yes, I am open to all challenges, but there would have to be some acclimatisation and training time.
NET-US-SAFRICA-PIGEON

Winston, weighing up the competition before the race.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, not so much as a tweet from BT.

Cheers to Mark at Unlimited for sorting the interview. Nice one.

September 27, 2009. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Charles Pigeon replied:

    Oh, man. What a cool bird! Thanks for the interview Brian, it’s good to hear about the notable pigeons of our day and age.

    Charles Pigeon

  2. Piccolopigeon replied:

    Excellent interview! Much anticipated and much appreciated!
    Kinda makes ya want to add a bit more of a prominent cere and take up racing, eh?

  3. pigeonblog replied:

    Charles Pigeon: Isn’t he just. Not that I want to compare taking on broadband to the likes of WWI, but a hero none the less.
    Your pal
    Bri P

    Piccolopigeon: Can’t say it hasn’t crossed my mind…
    Your pal
    Bri

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

