Happy Birthday Brian Pigeon

Now this is a fact I like to keep quiet, particularly in my advancing years, but it was my birthday a couple of days ago. Oh yes. Up until Facebook, no-one knew. Sadly, since I filled in my details including the date of my birth, suddenly word spread and before I knew it, every pigeon I passed was going: ‘Happy Birthday, mate’. Unbelievable. Pigeons I’d never heard of telling me to have a great day. As it happens, I did, hence the three day gap between birthday celebrations and posting.

You see, on the whole, we pigeons don’t give a flying fuck when our birthdays are. In fact, we go all out to positively ignore them. Partying can happen at any time on any day. Fact. If the opportunity arises and there’s a party to be had, a party we will have.

Another fact is that pigeons really don’t like to be reminded of how old they are. Time flies quickly enough without the greetings.

Anyway, rant over, like I say – I had a good day. Hung out with mates. Loads of them. Hit The Square around midday and pretty much did nothing else. Found a spinny around 2, and we were off. Not sure what it was, but it tasted good. Head went straight away, followed pretty soon after by the legs, in quite a big way. Happened to almost all of us, apart from Mart, but I don’t think he drank it as quickly as the rest of us. So – that was that. Not sure how long we were like that for. No-one does. Later on we did the same thing all over again in Soho Square. Blinding day, literally.

Then I log on tonight, finally, and check this out. Someone made me a cake, stuck an edible photo of me on it, and sent me a pic.

Cheers, Steve! Nice one pal.

So that’s that for another year, thank fuck.

May 28, 2009. Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. expateek replied:

    Happy Birthday, Bri! I’d do a fly-by, but by the time I’d get there, it’d be tomorrow. Best anyway, enjoy the pavement pickings and celebrate!

  2. M@ replied:

    Happy belated birthday brian. Or should that be hatchday?

  3. Becci replied:

    Happy Birthday, Brian…even though maybe you’d prefer us not to acknowledge it.🙂

    That is the BEST cake I’ve ever seen, by the way!!!

  4. pigeonblog replied:

    expateek: Maybe next year? I’ll save you a seed.
    Your pal
    Bri

    M@: Happy Hatchday. Better!
    Your pal
    Bri

    Becci: Cheers! I know, it’s great isn’t it. Most chuffed I was. Maybe hatchdays aren’t so bad after all?
    Your pal
    Bri

  5. Annie Mole replied:

    Hope you had a fab day & that is a rocking cake. Dare we ask how old you are?

  6. RoooRoooo replied:

    Happy birthday Brian! How much is it in pigeon years?

  7. pigeonblog replied:

    Annie Mole: No, you dare not!
    Your pal
    Bri

    RoooRoooo: Cheers! Enough years. That’s all I can say.
    Your pal
    Bri

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

