Post Christmas Post

So – that’s it. Christmas is over. Had quite a good one in the end as it goes. Not quite as good as last year, but still good. Just the right balance of friends and fine dining.

This is Mart about to stuff his load down the South Bank:

Then we staggered up to Hoxton for a spot of outdoor poetry courtesy of Elliot and the boys. Remember Elliot? We used to hang out quite alot, back in the day…

As it was Christmas, he went for this – ‘A Child’s Christmas In Wales’ by Dylan Thomas. I told him it was a bit dull, totally predictable and way too fucking long. Said he should have gone for something more like this – ‘Grand Pianos and Half-shaped Moons’. Nothing to do with Christmas and makes no sense whatsoever. He told me to fuck off and said I didn’t know what I was on about. Think he took it personally. Never mind. It was all ok in the end and we laughed about it later over a puddle of beer.

We also spent a while debating the virtues of online catchup TV following the launch of the BBC’s iPlayer. I said it was a computer-literate pigeon’s dream and told him I was looking forward to watching the ‘Extras Christmas Special’. He said it devalued television but was glad it was streaming as well as download so Mac users could use it too – a good point – especially from one who’s never been anywhere near a computer, to the best of my knowledge.

Anyway – moving on – this is for you, Rooo Roooo. It was sent to me by Michael. Cheers Michael! It’s a post that appeared in the Paris Daily Photo covering a bunch of French protesting about some pigeon cull. The French love the pigeon! Vive la France! Shame it’s not more like that over here…

Pigeon Rachel sent me this – cheers Rachel! Apparently, it’s official – pigeons in London are starving. They’ve done some tests and this was what they discovered:

– The autopsy report said: “All were found to be in poor bodily condition and although in some of the birds there was evidence of recent feeding… the gizzard of all birds was empty.”

Jesus. Any pigeon could have told them that and saved them the cash.

As it’s all Ken’s fault he’s unlikely to either care, or do anything about it, so I’ve decided to step in and raise awareness.

Thinking I might host Pigeon Aid – bit like Live Aid, but for pigeons. Get Elliot up there with a couple of poems…? See if The Pigeon Detectives are up for headlining…? Ask Noel Fielding if he would’t mind telling a few jokes or painting a happening backdrop…? What do you reckon?

December 28, 2007. Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. Becci replied:

    I’d certainly do anything I could to help you guys. I’ve donated to STTSP and I educate people about pigeons around here in Vancouver (and I’ve gotten a pro-pigeon article and a letter published in the paper) but I feel sort of stuck. If you have any ideas of what more I can do, please let me know!!!

    Great picture from France. It’s good to see people standing up for pigeons all over the world.

  2. Pigeon Rachel replied:

    Happy New Year Brian,
    I have something maybe Elliot could work on for Pigeon Aid:

    So Ken chose not to hear
    Our predictions of famine and fear
    And so he will find
    The death of our kind
    Adds to London without Christmas cheer.

    Ken had no idea how much we contribute to Christmas in London. My sister and I went to Regent Street. Absolutely shit. Not Christmassy at all. And the ‘lights’ are a joke. Something to do with Ken no doubt. Covent Garden’s nice and traditional. Bit too clean for much of a feast though!

    All the best, and good luck for your revoltionary work over 2008!

    Pigeon Rach

  3. RoooRoooo replied:

    And I didn’t even know about the protest… Great thing! The pigeon in France is better known as the Paris pigeon – that tells you what Paris would be without its pigeons…

  4. RoooRoooo replied:

    Didn’t even know about the protest – awfully great, hope to see more of that in the future.
    Good luck for getting rid of Ken over there!

  5. pigeonblog replied:

    Becci: You’re a pal to the pigeon to be sure! Loving the rap too… thinking I might forward it to Lilly Allen? As for Regent Street – totally agree. Just a load of old balls! Happy New Year!
    Your pal
    Bri P

    Rooo Roooo: Suspect you may have double commented under the influence. Did you? Did you…? Happy New Year mon ami. hope you had a good one! Let me know if you hear anything on the French protest. Love some insider info! As for the Paris pigeons – bring it on. Hope to get there myself this year sometime being the global traveller that I am.
    Your pal
    Bri P

  6. Becci replied:

    The rap was Pigeon Rachel’s, just so you know!🙂

  7. RoooRoooo replied:

    Bri, you suspect right!
    Happy new year to you too – 2008 will be feathery or won’t be at all!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

