Guardian Dull Pic Comp – Outraged!

Right – the results are in for the Guardian dull pic comp. Wondered why I hadn't heard anything, then a mate, Julia, sent me the outrageously bad news.

Not only did I not win, they chose a really shit pic of a load of pigeons taken by someone called Caroline. Fucking insult.

So – I thought I'd see what you think.

Let me know in the comments.

This was my entry: Mart and the lovely Linda watch Clive pick some seed out from under his toenail.

And THIS is 'the other one': Some shit out of focus pic of a bunch of random chav pigeons not even looking at the camera.

Pigeons by Caroline Lester

No fucking competition far as I'm concerned.

They prob didn't choose mine coz I'm a pigeon – prob says in the small print: 'Humans Only'. Gonna check it out though coz if it does, that's just plain out an' out anti-pigeonistic behaviour.

So – get commenting ad tell me which one you think is the best!

March 30, 2006. Uncategorized.

8 Comments

  1. Ali replied:

    I am being voting for you. The other pic is shit.

    Your pal

    Ali

  2. Mag replied:

    “… So – VOTE NOW! …”

    Ok, I will vote…

  3. Sereena X replied:

    Brian, your picture wasn’t “dull enough” to win. Look at Caroline’s photo: it’s boring and out of focus. Your photo is clear and shows good composition and it’s not r3eally all that boring.

    Maybe you should send a picture of yourself to CuteOverload.com

  4. RoooRoooo replied:

    Unfair and indeed outrageous. I’m all with you!! Yours is obviously better. And at least we know WHO is on the picture – it has a story!

  5. Becci replied:

    Most of the pictures that won are crappy and out of focus…humans with red-eye, a dog cropped halfway out of its photo…big deal. Maybe yours was too good to win.

  6. dimwittedmusings replied:

    First time I’ve come across the pigeon blog. You are my idol. LOL🙂

  7. Julia replied:

    It is definitely anti-pigeonistic behaviour. The Guardian had a chance to print your picture and thus demonstrate to more ignorant members of society that pigeons and humans experience many of the same activities and emotions in their daily life – for example, look at the curiosity and concern on the faces of you and your mate in that photo! But no – they’d prefer to keep the public in the dark.

    The solution: MORE PIGEONBLOG!

    By the way, I recently saw the hatching of two pigeons on the window ledge of a nearby building. Baby pigeons are adorable – so wiggly! Do you have any baby pictures you could share with us, Brian? I’m sure you were a darling wee squab.

  8. pigeonblog replied:

    Apologies all – got a bit caught up this week in the whole LA thing plus Norm’s feather allergy kicked in again and he’s only let me post!

    Ali: Cheers bud. Hope all’s cool in Slough!
    Your pal
    Bri P

    Mag: Take it you liked mine best?
    Your pal
    Brian P

    Serena X: Fair point. I thought the idea was dull pics though, not shit pics taken by idiots! I’ll check out cuteoverload.com… thanks for the tip. Obv the Guardian don’t know shit.
    Your pal
    Bri P

    Rooo Roooo: Cheers pal! Thanks for the support. I also think they should have taken into account it was done by a pigeon. Like I said though – maybe that’s why they rejected mine in the first place?!
    Your pal
    Bri P

    Becci: Thanks. I guess I should have sent them one of Mart’s out of focus shit ones instead?!
    Your pal
    Bri P

    dimwittedmusings: Cheers bud. Glad you like it.
    Your pal
    Brian P

    Julia: More pigeonblog sounds like a great idea! Just said to Becci though, maybe I should’ve sent them a shit out of focus Martin pic instead? Tbh, on the squab pic front, I wasn’t much of a looker. Thankfully got better with age… I’ll see if I can dig one out though.
    Your pal
    Bri P

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

