Pigeonblog Hits The Big Time!

Jesus Christ. So excited I nearly pissed myself. Trotting down the South Bank with Mart, sunny morning and all that. Decided to hang out at the NFT caff – top spot for a little crumbdrop – overheard this geezer:

“A blog, by a pigeon – marvelous – pigeonblog.wordpress.com… or possibly by a pigeon? Says they’ve got an ‘endearing snarky humour’, so I guess it must be…”

Here’s the rub: The geezer was reading THE GUARDIAN GUIDE. Fuck me. A write up in The Guide! How totally cool is that? Thanks guys. I knew those animal peace lovin’ organic lefties would dig a straight talking pigeon into pics and poetry.

So – anyone here for the first time – probably good to read this:

Welcome to My World

Gives you a bit of background on me, Brian, Britain’s premier blogging pigeon. Also covers a couple of pigeon issues I’m trying to sort, like the whole anti-pigeon vibe going down in London thanks to Mayor Ken. Started a ‘Give Pigeons A Chance’ campaign and already got 298 signatures. Bloody good going for a pigeon. Better than a clip board anyday. Sign up now if you haven’t already. We need all the support we can get – esp as we got dissed by the RSPB.
Even got my own merch – non-profit – just to raise awareness.

Cheers loads for the write up, JD. Just a couple of points: You call us ‘chavs‘. Massive sweeping statement. Agree pigeons in places like Hayes and Croydon can be chavvy and hang out in gangs in shopping centres – just coz they’re bored with fuck all else to do. That’s why I escaped and moved to Beak Street! The bottom line is, we’re not all like that. I got mates in Hoxton into poetry, art and all sorts, mates in Brixton into new technology, even got pigeon mates into acting. You also mention the shitting thing – I cover this too.

Frankly, I’m using the world of the blog to show the anti-pigeonists there’s more to us than they think.

Seems to be working too.

March 25, 2006. Uncategorized.

16 Comments

  1. Stu replied:

    Hey Brian, I caught The Guardian Guide, and I’d just like to say you rock! What you’re doing for your fellow pigeon is admirable, putting yourself out there, and it shouldn’t be long before we start refering to you as Sir Brian if you ask me… you’ve certainly changed my preconcieved ideas of pigeons. Respect.

    In awe and admiration,

    Stu.

  2. pigeonblog replied:

    Stu: Cheers mate! Nice one. Like the Sir Brian bit too. Funnily enough a couple of US pals call me ‘Sir’.
    Yours
    Brian P

  3. r.e.wolf replied:

    The Guardian, no less!!! Sir B, welcome to the big time! Now, if you would, translate for those of us on the wrong side of the pond: chav?

    Congratulations, my friend!

  4. Fritz replied:

    Damn right its a good blog, thats why I come here.

  5. pigeonblog replied:

    Ryan: Cheers mate! Course – didn’t think of the chav thing. Here’s a good explanation:
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=chav
    Your pal
    Sir Bri

    Fritz: Nice one, Fritz! Thanks! It’s coz ace reporters like you send me top stuff!
    Your pal
    Bri P

  6. pigeonblog replied:

    Ryan: Took on board your comment and figured chav needed a bit of explaining, so I added a link in the original post. Cheers pal. Nice one.
    Yours
    Sir B

  7. RoooRoooo replied:

    Congratulations Sir Brian! That’s fame – which is great – and the even greater thing is that you use it for your mates’ welfare. Keep up the great blog!

  8. Max replied:

    Wow! I can’t believe it! The NFT Cafe! I love that place — it’s so cool. You go in, to the back, end up in luxerious hallway and end up in a movie book shop. Wow!

  9. Becci replied:

    Congratulations, Brian!

    Regarding “chav”, you actually use a fair number of words that I’m unfamiliar with–go figure! It makes your speech seem very colorful and interesting, though, so I don’t mind. I guess it’s a British thing or a pigeon thing or a British pigeon thing. I like learning new words, particularly from pigeons.

  10. Sereena X replied:

    Congratulations, Sir Brian. Even though I’m in the States, I read the Guardian, too.

    It’s only a matter of time before you conquer the world. Or something.

  11. r.e.wolf replied:

    Sir Brian, you are a gentlem- er, gentlepigeon! Makes perfect sense now, and I’m glad to find a word for that element of society. It does NOT fit most pigeons, however!

  12. pigeonblog replied:

    RoooRoooo: Cheer’s pal. I’ll do me best!
    Yours Bri P

    Max: Yeah – the NFT. Great old haunt. Not been as far as the shop, but the front bit – esp on book days – tops for crumb searching and a bit of culture.
    Your pal Brian P

    Becci: Ryan it’s a fair point about the chav thing and you guys not knowing it. Gonna think about that more and leave more links.
    Your pal
    Bri P

    Sereena: Bit weird, Sereena. It only started out as a bit of a laugh. Thanks though.
    Bri P

  13. The 250 replied:

    Well this is something that I don’t usually read.

    Nice.

  14. Nora replied:

    Is this the world’s most famous pigeon? Maybe they could all be wiped out by bird flu?

    http://www.corrieblog.tv/2006/02/jack_duckworths.html

  15. pigeonblog replied:

    Ryan: Do you have chavs in the States. As you’ll see – I’m off to Hollywood so I’d love to know!
    Your pal
    Sir B

    The 250: Cheers! Must say, though there’d be more of us pigeons into this blogging thing. Apparently not!
    Your pal
    Brian P

    Nora: Thanks for this. I got it covered though. Came up with my own simple solution. Check it out.
    https://pigeonblog.wordpress.com/2006/02/26/bird-flu-a-simple-solution/
    Your pal
    Brian P

  16. r.e.wolf replied:

    WAY too many chavs here!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

