Guardian Boring Pic Comp – My Entry

Right – I did it – finally entered the Guardian mundane pic comp – the Karen one. They said they were looking for boring everyday pics – so I sent them this:


It’s one I took the other day – Mart and Linda watching another mate, Clive, pick some seed out from under his toenail. Had a bit of a thing with Linda ages ago. Chucked me for a racing pigeon called Richard.
This is the email I sent to go with it:

“My name is Brian and I’m a pigeon living in London who loves to blog. I’ve attached a pic I took of a very mundane moment in my life.

I realise to you my life might not be mundane enough to be included but, believe me, it has its moments, and this is one of them.

It’s of two of my mates, Mart and Linda, watching another mate, Clive, pick some seed out from under his toenail. No clue why I took it. Seemed like a good idea at the time.”
You never know. If Karen picks it – I get a copy of the mag. Mind you, probably won’t send me one now they know I’m a pigeon. Fuck. Should have thought of that.

March 20, 2006. Uncategorized.

5 Comments

  1. RoooRoooo replied:

    I presume they don’t receive that many pictures of people picking seeds out from under their toenails, so I’d say you’ve got chances! Keep us posted, that’ll rock if a pigeon could win the contest.
    Linda is really cute – she has a very feminine pose on the picture. Clive though seems a bit out there – does he drink?

  2. pigeonblog replied:

    RoooRoooo: Cheers pal. It would so rock wouldn’t it? Toes crossed. I know – shame about Linda – I quite fancied her. Just can’t compete with those racing dudes. Hmph. Clive is a nutter to be honest. Comes from Peckham. They’re all a bit odd down there.
    Your pal
    Brian P – btw – the ‘Sir’ bit is a nickname. Quite like it though!

  3. Linda replied:

    Hi – Linda here. I’ve finished with Richard the racing pigeon – he was always showing off, flash bastard. It started when someone put that ‘bling’ round his leg – a gold bracelet with numbers on it. That wasn’t seed that Clive was picking out of his foot, it was a piece of tandoori chicken found in a pool of vomit outside the Brickies Arms the night before. I’m back with Mart now anyway and planning a clutch of eggs. Ta ra for now. Linda

  4. pigeonblog replied:

    Linda! Cool! Didn’t know you were into blogging too. Actually, I knew about the chicken thing. Just thought seed sounded better – more bird like. Hope you didn’t mind me entering the pic. We must get together sometime and hang out. Do you go to the spa often?
    Your pal
    Brian P

  5. Linda replied:

    Hi Brian. By the ‘spa’ I presume you mean the green algae covered birdbath in the middle of the shopping mall? Nah, haven’t been there for ages. I used to take the tube there but ever since Colin (remember him? One leg and no foot?) got his stump stuck in the lattice flooring, I haven’t ventured on one again. It scared the poop out of me I can tell you (and the other dozen or so of us on the train at the time). Ciao for now. Linda

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

