The Plot Thickens: France Here I Come – not

Ref my earlier post about the French pigeon invasion – a mate call RoooRoooo – who’s French – just sent me this link. It’s some website that goes on about how shit pigeons are and how they should all be shot – at least I think that’s what it says coz it’s in French – and I’m a pigeon.
Translated the first parag on Babelfish and this is what it came up with:

“The pigeon was domesticated by the man since highest antiquity. To the Second World War it was used for its meat, like carrier pigeon and for the quality of its droppings which were used as manure for the cultures. Nowadays the domestic pigeon is hardly useful for agriculture and it passed by again in a state semi-savage invading the cities, proliferating. One observes the pigeons by colonies on the pavements in search of food.”

Frankly the French made more sense but I get the drift – they fucking hate pigeons just as much as the Brits. Bummer. There goes my ‘hanging out in Paris for the weekend eating moulles and croissant’ idea.  Badly object to the ‘hardly useful’ and ‘semi savage’ bits. How fucking rude. Cheers for the heads up RoooRoooo.

Anyway – he also told me the Italians love the pigeon. Cool. Gonna look into this more though coz last I heard there was some heavy mafia type stuff going on with the pigeons over there – esp in Venice. If not – I’ll get my hat – not that pigeons wear hats – we’d look like right knobs.

Oh – also – a Mr Owl commented on my Vulture story and said we pigeons can chill coz they only eat carrion – so, just to be safe, I told the pigeons in Essex not to play the ‘Sleeping Pigeons’ game for a while – kinda like Sleeping Lions but for pigeons.

March 15, 2006. Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. RoooRoooo replied:

    Mafia threatening pigeons in Venice? Abducting them and asking for a ransom (but how are pigeons supposed to pay?)? Doesn’t sound too good…
    The French site is atctually a tribute to pigeons. It debunks all the bloody stupid statements some nitwits make – such as, “pigeons spread disease”. You know the kind. And it’s all for feeding pigeons, but – it put the emphasis on that point – NOT with poisoned seeds – can you believe some people actually DO that?!
    You won’t find that many moules in Paris, though – it’s much more a Belgian thing. I didn’t know pigeons eat seafood. I’m told it’s good for the feathers, though.

  2. pigeonblog replied:

    RoooRoooo: Ok – I take it back – just the bits I translated used words like semi-savage. I’ll check it out further tomorrow. I Blame Babelfish. Most pigeons don’t do seafood – just a seagull mate gave me some once and I quite liked it – don’t get much of it in London though. The old poisoned seed routine – know that one well. Eric the killer Hawk’s probably got a crate of them stashed somewhere. I’m still undecided on the Italy front – thinking of going there on a recce. Gonna do a post and see if any Iti pigeons blog – they might be able to help. Just posted your google revelation btw – cheers for that. Bastards. How dare they?!
    Your pal
    Brian P

  3. RoooRoooo replied:

    Ah, don’t even get me started about how savage the French can be;)
    I learnt on this page that there are people who actually complain that pigeons are noisy. Cats meowing like crazy in the middle of the night are fine, but pigeons are a bother. Tch, the humanity!
    You’re very much welcome for the piece of information. That just really didn’t seem right at all.
    Haven’t you got quite a lot of fish and chips booths in London? I’d be curious to know whether it makes a decent snack for a pigeon.
    Eric…what’s with that stupid name anyway?!

    Cheers,

    RoooRoooo

  4. Sereena X replied:

    Pigeons do look kind of tasty, Brian. Not that I would ever deep-fry a pigeon up all golden brown and crispy or anything…

  5. pigeonblog replied:

    RoooRoooo: Fish and chips sucks in London. Honest. Much better at the sea side – which is where I’m off to at the weekend. Ye ha. Most pigeons don’t like the fish bit – I do. Chips rock though. Esp the soggy ones with ketchup. Seaside is best to get them warm too.
    Your pal
    Brian P

    Sereena X: I’m shocked! Course we look tasty – we’re pigeons – but not in that kinda way. Mind you – someone sent me the recipe for pigeon pie – I’ll post it – read it and see if you’d like you’re lot talked about like that!
    Your pal
    Brian P

  6. RoooRoooo replied:

    btw this semi-savage thing was a bad translation of semi-wild. Not quite like the savage race in Tennyson’s Ulysses!

  7. pigeonblog replied:

    RoooRoooo: Ah. Je comprends. Good huh? Not read Ulysses myself. Never had long enough at the old pc. Bring on the Origami.
    Your pal
    Brian

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

