The Thing About Getting Older

The thing about getting older isn’t just the occasional ache in the wing joints, it’s the rapidly fading memory. Honestly. Mine is so shot to pieces it’s embarrassing. Sometimes it feels like there’s nothing in there at all.

Yesterday, I bumped into this guy:

“Bri!” He said, straight in my face looking quite excited. “Bri Pigeon! Great to see you again!”

I had no clue who he was. Not a single one.

“Oh, hi.” I said, trying not to look too vague, “How are you?”

“Great. Great. Cheers. Bloody hell, that night, dude. Dude! Best night in years. Still laughing about it now!”

“Yeah. It was great, wasn’t it.” I had no idea what he was talking about.

“When you said that thing. What was it?” By this time he was laughing so hard his foot was slamming on the pavement. “You know? That thing? Hilarious!”

Time for a swift exit: “Listen, really sorry, man, but I can’t stop. I’m just on my way somewhere. Great to see you again though. Let’s not leave it so long next time.”

Then came the sting: “But it was only last week…”

Damn. Fucking typical. He shuffled off looking somewhat deflated despite my attempt to salvage the situation: “But last week feels like ages ago!”

Terrible.

That was the moment I decided something has to be done before it gets any worse and I’ll have to start referring to my blog as ‘the online diary of an aging pigeon who can’t remember very much any more’. Not good.

I figured food might be a good place to start. Turns out nuts can help by boosting my Vitamin E levels. Easy. So tomorrow I shall mainly be sitting under the nut stall on Berwick Sreet Market if anyone fancies joining me?

I’m also going to investigate some other more practical methods. Perhaps a few simple mental agility exercises? Mart suggested counting pavement cracks but that’s more likely to send me mental than anything else.

Any other pigeons out there suffering the same lack of recollection, watch this space (if you can remember that is).

November 1, 2012. Uncategorized.

13 Comments

  1. Ali from the Pally replied:

    God I know what you mean. There was some seed used to be put out for me (plus a bunch of freeloaders) every day in a street round here. The source must have gone on holiday or something and I got out of the habit late summer. Now I’m getting hungry again and I can’t remember which fucking street it was. If anyone out there could remind me……………..

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Damn. Know that one. Why do you think I live on Beak Street? Not really a name I can forget!

  2. Joan Wilson Manchester replied:

    HI MATE KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN AND IM A HUMAN. JUST KEEP SAFE. YOUR A HERO IN MANCHESTER NOW. LOVE THE BLOG. HAVE A LOOK IN MY PERSONS WINDOW WHEN SHE LEAVES SOME TOP NOTCH SUNFLOWER SEEDS, THERE MOSTLY FOR THE NOISY SMALL BIRDS BUT IM UNDERNEATH WITH MY MATES CATCHING THE FALLOUT, NOT A BAD GARDEN. TAKE IT EASY.

  3. Lady Chibs replied:

    XD

    I’ve had trouble with remembering things, but never during a conversation (excepts for when I totally space out and completely miss what the person was saying)

    My problem has always been where I place things! I mean just recently I had a pair of socks and I took them off when I came home… Very next morning, they’re missing! I swear I can barely keep up with anything.

    • pigeonblog replied:

      I’ve heard that before about how socks can walk off on their own. Probably why we don’t wear them.

  4. jeanny replied:

    Awww Bless. Posh Pigeon here, and Bri, I like older men so watch out for me when you’re eating your nuts, I’m the one with the bling rings, 4 of em, you can’t miss me. Hope your eyesight’s going too, cos I’ve gone a bit raggy myself, this getting older bit sucks.

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Raggy works, it’s when the personal hygiene slips that I get put off. Believe me, that’s a common one for the aging pigeons in London.

  5. Bicoid Babe replied:

    I’ve heard that garlic ( either in your food or taken as a supplement) can help fight memory loss.

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Not great for the pulling though. Mart ate some once. No-one could talk to him for days.

  6. K_tigress replied:

    Well don’t forget regular exercise such as walking is not only great for your health over all but it helps the blood pump in to your brain for better thinking too. My oldest dove who is in his thirty’s is wishing he did more of that when he was younger instead of being obsessed with impressing the lady’s by sitting in the nest all day and egg sitting. He now has arthritis.
    Poor bird brain!

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Bless him. Send him my regards and say congrats for reaching such a grand old age. Good work.

  7. James Appleton replied:

    I am terrible with faces. I imagine having feathers all over one’s face only complicates the situation.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,939 other followers

