In Search Of Murray At Wimbledon…

A pal called Andi Sharp asked me on Twitter if my old pal Murray was going to Wimbledon again this year. What with all the Olympic craziness, and getting my shit together for Time Out magazine, I’d totally forgotten about both Wimbledon, and Murray.

For those who don’t know him, Murray is a massive Andy Murray fan and loves nothing better than watching him play at Wimbledon. He even changed his name to Murray he loves him that much.

But then, back in 2008, he got shot at by the pigeon police whilst enjoying a match… You can read the sorry tale here.

So, remembering Murray and how much the tennis meant to him, I spent most of the afternoon hunting him down. Soon as I found him, I wished I hadn’t. It was shocking.

This was him back in 2008:

Okay, so he wasn’t exactly a looker then, but this is him now:

Jesus Christ. Utterly bonkers. Clearly lost the plot completely. Someone told me he had last year, but I didn’t believe them.

Apparently, since the shooting, he’s been living on the roof of Centre Court as a total recluse. I found him at the back by the bins, and all he was doing was saying “Andy. Andy. Andy.” Over and over again.

I asked him if he was okay, and he just looked vaguely in my direction and goes, “Andy..? Is that you..?”

So, in answer to your question, Andi, Murray will be at Wimbledon this year, but in body only. He’s certainly in no fit state to see his hero play his first match tomorrow.

If anyone has any contacts with the actual Andy Murray, please can you let him know about the plight of Murray? I’m sure even just a brief hello would mean the world to him.

Cheers.

June 25, 2012. Uncategorized.

11 Comments

  1. illegal tortoise replied:

    I know Tim Henman’s dad, but that’s probably not going to help Murray.

    • pigeonblog replied:

      It might… Maybe he knows Andy Murray’s dad? Desperate times.

  2. andi sharp replied:

    So sorry to hear about Murray :-( have tweeted your blog to Andy Murray so hopefully he might see him and give him a strawberry and make his day – we can but hope he finds his way back to health

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Nice one. I’ve just done the same. You never know. Let’s attack from all angles!

  3. Gary replied:

    Gotta love Brian :-)

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Cheers, although Murray’s state of mind is worrying… Don’t know Andy Murray do you?

  4. Christine Harmer replied:

    Poor thing, surely Andy can spare a moment or two to make this fella’s day and give him something to have a better life for!

    • pigeonblog replied:

      Absolutely. I’ve Tweeted and everything. Will let you know. Fingers crossed.

      • Christine Harmer replied:

        Of course he will, after all mornings are free for him aren’t they? He must answer his tweets, would be rude not to! x

  5. Goodbye Summer. It’s Been Fun. « Pigeon Blog replied:

    [...] what’s next? Apart from hunting down my pal Murray at Wimbledon to let him know that, amazingly, his hero won the US Open last night, I’ve no [...]

  6. Murray Is Alive And Well! | Pigeon Blog replied:

    […] Remember my pigeon pal in London from years ago, Murray? The Andy Murray fan who used to fly to Wimbledon every year to watch his hero play? Remember how he’d lost it back in 2012 and was living as a recluse on the roof on Centre Court… […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,276 other followers

