Desperate Dan And An Actor Prepares

The stories of storm survival keep pouring in, including one rather tragic episode. Dan set out from Mile End on Monday morning and was last spotted yesterday afternoon just outside Brighton desperately trying to turn around whilst tumbling at high speed towards the Coast. Any of you down there who happen to spot a pigeon clearly in a state of extreme panic, can you give him a big ‘Bonjour’ shout out? At least that way he’ll know how to say hello when he hits the cliffs at Calais!

In case you’re wondering what he looks like – this is Dan:

It was taken a while back, so he may have put a bit of weight on since then.

Thinking of you, Dan.

In the meantime, remember my actor pal, Doug? The Shakespeare nut? Bumped into him today in The Square, and had to post this. With The Bard’s birthday just round the corner, he’s thinking he might take it to Covent Garden. Fucking hilarious. It’s from ‘Antony and Cleopatra‘ and is one of his favourite monologues, apparently.

Here it is:

“All is lost!
This foul Egyptian hath betrayed me:
My fleet hath yielded to the foe, and yonder
They cast their caps up and carouse together…”

“Like friends long lost. Triple-turned whore! ’tis thou
Has sold me to this novice, and my heart
Makes only wars on thee. Bid them all fly;
For when I am revenged upon my charm,
I have done all.”

“Bid them all fly, begone.
O sun, thy uprise shall I see no more.
Fortune and Antony part here, even here
Do we shake hands. All come to this? The hearts
That spanieled me at heels, to whom I gave
Their wishes, do discandy, melt their sweets
On blossoming Caesar; and this pine is barked,
That overtopped them all.”

“Betrayed I am. “

I gave him a bit of useful feedback in that a little more going on behind the eyes might help the audience to better understand Antony’s emotional journey. I didn’t have the heart to tell him that his was probably the worst performance of that particular monologue I have ever seen.

Guess you’ve got to admire him for his tenacity.


March 13, 2008. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Professional Housegirlfriend replied:

    I must confess I am yet to meet a pigeon who can act. I think it must be something to do with unblinking sincerity, it interferes with the mechanics of facial movement.

  2. pigeonblog replied:

    Professional Housegirlfriend: Fair point. There’s probably still an awful lot more that he could have done with his body though… Saying that, by his own admittance, flexibility isn’t one ofhis strong points.
    Your pal
    Bri

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,276 other followers

